Upgrade from 8 to 9 - currently undergoing maintenance

Ask your questions regarding TimeTrex installation here.
sjcarlow

Upgrade from 8 to 9 - currently undergoing maintenance

Post by sjcarlow »

I've been using TimeTrex Community Edition On-Site for about 2 years now on a personal server for one employee. Last November I tried to log into TimeTrex and suddenly found numerous errors and was unable to login. It appeared at the time that it had auto-upgraded from 8 to 9 and something failed. I tried reinstalling 9.0.2 over the auto-upgraded v9 install, tried uninstalling everything and installing 9.0.2 fresh (and restoring backup database), etc. Each time v9 would stop me at an "undergoing maintenance" screen after I logged in to the new version. My entire TimeTrex installation folder ballooned from about 400-500MB to over 9GB, all in the log folder. As such, I couldn't read the log file because it was too large to open. My only success was to wipe everything and install 8.0.8 fresh and restoring a backup of my db. I went in circles and was never able to get version 9.0.2 to work, so reverted back to 8.0.8 and things worked just fine for me.

I managed to disable an auto upgrade flag and never had another problem. Now that 2015 is complete and I was able to provide a W-2 to my employee, I felt it time to upgrade again to version 9. I've had a header in TimeTrex occasionally reminding me to upgrade as well, so I clicked the link and downloaded the auto installer for 9.0.7 this time.