Will Timetrex work for my situation? (I'm a newbie)

Topics brought up by the TimeTrex open source community.
rajeshv

Will Timetrex work for my situation? (I'm a newbie)

Post by rajeshv »

I tried searching for 'gpl php attendance system' and got lots of references to TimeTrex, so went ahead and downloaded it for a trial. Installation on my separate Linux box was pretty easy, since I went in with XAMPP to get the version problems sorted out. First impressions: the software looks great, and I'm getting quick response times on my posts here... I'm very impressed.

I'm a bit confused by the terminologies in vogue in TimeTrex, so I thought I'd find out if TimeTrex can suit my need:
My company is based in India, and while we have our own offices, we have large surplus lands in our premises, so we have lots of different companies operating in the same campus. Currently, the total strength would be about 3,000... could go up to 10,000 with all firms included.

So I guess my query is: Can this Free GPL version be customised to handle multiple companies, having multiple departments, multiple projects and multiple locations? In short, all 10,000 employees need to be classified under these 4 categories, and attendance policies must be specifiable (does that word exist? :) ) category-wise.

I'm willing to invest more time and money on this package, but I thought I should check out if this is feasible, beforehand. After attendance, we also need to customise it to Indian tax laws.. and our in-house time-management cum bug-tracking system; but the crucial first step would be attendance.

Thanks, and please keep up the good work!
Rajesh
shaunw

Post by shaunw »

TimeTrex basically has 4 ways to differentiate employees:

1. Company
.. 2. Branch
.. 3. Department
.. 4. Group