Seeing nothing but a blank white screen LINUX (Ubuntu)

Ask your questions regarding TimeTrex installation here.
Locked
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

Seeing nothing but a blank white screen LINUX (Ubuntu)

Post by eeclark »

TimeTrex_Standard_Edition_v1.6.0-beta1.zip
Trying to install on Ubuntu Linux 7.04
Have PHP5 and MySQL installed.
Go to http://smallville/timetrex/interface/in ... nstall.php
Page redirects to http://smallville/timetrex/interface/in ... icense.php

Seeing nothing but a blank white screen.

Tested PHP with <?php phpinfo();?> and I can view the PHP test page.

Please help.
shaunw
Posts: 7839
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by shaunw »

A blank screen almost certainly means a PHP error. Please enable display errors or error logging in your php.ini file and try again.

You can also search our past topics for "blank", "blank page", or "blank license" to get more information. It has been discussed several times.
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

blank page update : Linux

Post by eeclark »

I added the debian package for PHP-CLI.

Now all I am getting is...
a blank page.

I also created the DB Schema, timetrex, and gave permissions to the user timetrex.

Still, a blank page.
shaunw
Posts: 7839
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by shaunw »

Please read this FAQ entry, specifically the part about PHP error logging:

http://forums.timetrex.com/viewtopic.php?t=89

We need to find out what error PHP is returning that is causing the blank page. By default PHP doesn't show the error as that could be considered a security issue. So you need to enable logging and view the log file to determine what the error actually is. Without that error we are just shooting blanks.
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

needed php-pear

Post by eeclark »

needed to install php-pear package.
thanks
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

Post by eeclark »

I now get the License page.
I place the checkmark in the box and click "Start" but nothing is happening.
Here is what is on the bottom of the page.


Debug Buffer
============================================================================
Memory Usage: 2556444
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEBUG [155]: [Function](): URI: /timetrex/interface/install/License.php
DEBUG [157]: [Function](): Production: 0
DEBUG [50]: [Function](): Bypassing Authentication
DEBUG [263]: TTi18n::chooseBestLocale(): Choosing Best Locale...
DEBUG [305]: TTi18n::chooseBestLocale(): cSetting Locale: en_us
DEBUG [191]: TTi18n::setLocale(): Attempting to set Locale to: en_us Category: 6
DEBUG [194]: TTi18n::setLocale(): bAttempting to set Locale to: en_us
DEBUG [196]: TTi18n::setLocale(): Failed setting i18n locale: en_us
DEBUG [305]: TTi18n::chooseBestLocale(): cSetting Locale: en
DEBUG [191]: TTi18n::setLocale(): Attempting to set Locale to: en Category: 6
DEBUG [194]: TTi18n::setLocale(): bAttempting to set Locale to: en
DEBUG [196]: TTi18n::setLocale(): Failed setting i18n locale: en
DEBUG [316]: TTi18n::chooseBestLocale(): Unable to find and set a locale.
DEBUG [53]: [Function](): Start
DEBUG [35]: Redirect::page(): Redirect URL: Requirements.php
DEBUG [73]: Install::isInstallMode(): Install Mode is ON
============================================================================

============================================================================
PROFILER OUTPUT
============================================================================
Calls Time Routine
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 0.0000 ms (0.00 %) unprofiled

79.0579 ms (100.00 %) Missed
============================================================================
79.0579 ms (100.00 %) OVERALL TIME
============================================================================
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

InnoDB

Post by eeclark »

Now I am getting...

Your MySQL database does not support the InnoDB storage engine which is required for TimeTrex to use transactions and ensure data integrity. Please add InnoDB support to MySQL before continuing.

This is not the case. InnoDB is enabled by default in MySQL.
shaunw
Posts: 7839
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by shaunw »

Please see this topic regarding InnoDB:

http://forums.timetrex.com/viewtopic.ph ... ght=innodb

Also, it would be nice if you could post the exact error message(s) you were seeing, and what you did to fix them as to help other people that may have the same issues, or to better help us keep the issue from happening again.
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

I do not know what resolved the InnoDB issue...

Post by eeclark »

I do not know what resolved the InnoDB issue...
However, my "takeaway" was the following:
Be sure to have not just the php5 package installed...be sure to have php5-cli and php-pear.
I believe these were the reasons for my problems.
Thanks
shaunw
Posts: 7839
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by shaunw »

Run this SQL query at the MySQL console:

show storage engines;

It will tell you if InnoDB is really enabled or not.
eeclark
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:38 am

results

Post by eeclark »

mysql> show storage engines;
+------------+----------+----------------------------------------------------------------+
| Engine | Support | Comment |
+------------+----------+----------------------------------------------------------------+
| MyISAM | DEFAULT | Default engine as of MySQL 3.23 with great performance |
| MEMORY | YES | Hash based, stored in memory, useful for temporary tables |
| InnoDB | YES | Supports transactions, row-level locking, and foreign keys |
| BerkeleyDB | NO | Supports transactions and page-level locking |
| BLACKHOLE | NO | /dev/null storage engine (anything you write to it disappears) |
| EXAMPLE | NO | Example storage engine |
| ARCHIVE | YES | Archive storage engine |
| CSV | YES | CSV storage engine |
| ndbcluster | DISABLED | Clustered, fault-tolerant, memory-based tables |
| FEDERATED | YES | Federated MySQL storage engine |
| MRG_MYISAM | YES | Collection of identical MyISAM tables |
| ISAM | NO | Obsolete storage engine |
+------------+----------+----------------------------------------------------------------+
12 rows in set (0.00 sec)
shaunw
Posts: 7839
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:22 pm

Post by shaunw »

Okay, so it seems like your MySQL has InnoDB support, but for some reason TimeTrex isn't detecting it. Can you edit:

interface/install/DatabaseConfig.php

and find the following lines at or around line 120:

Code: Select all

	case 'next':
		Debug::Text('Next', __FILE__, __LINE__, __METHOD__,10);
		//Debug::setVerbosity(11);
Uncomment the Debug line, (remove "//" from the begining), then try to install TimeTrex again. This should cause a bunch of debug output to appear where you saw the error before. Copy and paste the debug output here.
Locked